Testimonials and reviews of La Maison de Maitre

Traduire cette page:

Special Offers

30% OFF all remaining September stays in all suites for 2019

30% OFF all remaining October stays in all suites for 2019

 

Enquire/Contact Us »

Reviews

2019

IDYLLIC SETTING & LUXURIOUS ACCOMMODATION Our second year in a row here. This time in Lartigue, with my sister, her partner and baby in Coco next door, which shares a beautiful covered patio. We had two weeks here in August with my mum and our two children aged 8 and 5. We came back because the accommodation is luxurious and spotlessly clean, the pool and the view from the pool is totally idyllic - rolling hills, very peaceful and the surrounding area - very pretty hilltop villages with night markets and lovely cafes.  Juliet and Deane work tirelessly to create the perfect holiday experience for the whole family. They are perfect hosts. There when you need them for advice on what to do but not overly intrusive.  We sampled Parc en Ciel high ropes activity about 50 mins away - excellent - really well run and the 5 year old could do it too. We also hired electric boats, paddle boards and canoes at Base Nautique, Castelmoron - lovely guy and great experience.  We loved our meal out at Au Bord de la Source restaurant only 5 mins drive away - gorgeous setting, amazing food.  We also just loved sitting on the decking watching the view at La Maison de Maitre with our home cooked meals.  We hope to return again!  Emma, AUGUST '19 LARTIGUE & COCO

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED My 5 and 7 yr old daughters, husband, in-laws and I had a blissful time in two beautifully converted barn villas overlooking rolling farmland and villages around Villamade. Lovely pool, excellent hosts who provided everything needed for a very easy, relaxing holiday. Lots of little trips to do around and about, v pretty medieval towns, lake swimming and boating, nice restaurants nearby. Only 45 mins from Bergerac airport too, easy to get to. Highly recommended. Fiona, AUGUST '19 VIONNET & COCO

SUPERB FAMILY HOLIDAY WITH VIEWS TO DIE FOR. What a find! Having read all the reviews I couldn't quite believe this place would live up to the hype but it reallly did. A superb family holiday destination in the most stunning area in France. The interiors were stunning - Juliet's past career in fashion and design is evident in every little detail. So pretty and authentically French too. There was literally everything you could possibly think of at your disposal from all the cooking aparatus to all the children's bits which is a HUGE relief when travelling with litle ones - black out blinds, bed sides, cots with thick mattresses, bottles, steriliisers, children's cutlery, a toy box, bath toys, kids dvds etc. Outside the apartment there is a large covered area which is great for the sunnier evenings to enjoy the spectacular view. A large lawned area with a number of fun outdoor playground toys had been laid out for the children which was fab as you could watch over them whilst cooking etc. Talking of views..... Quite spectacular. Being in a valley you have this wrap around vista that is just mesmorising... even on rainy days. Stunning! The pool is situated around the back of the stunning main house. The pool is utterly divine with far reaching views and all importantly WARM! Bliss. Plus every possible pool toy you could dream of from the play den, with a remarkable collection of toys for all ages and play park with a slide, swings, sandpit and best of all a trampoline.  Juliet and Deane were the perfect hosts. Utterly charming and so helpful with any of our queries or requests. They were always on hand but also totally respectful of your privacy - spot on! As for Juliet's cooking - WOW! Such a lovely treat for this kind of holiday when you want a break from the kitchen. We used her meal service on several nights and enjoyed divine meals each time - all then cleared away too so like restaurant experience. The children also were treated to some yummy cooking which they loved. So so lovely. The area is wonderful too with beautiful villages all very near by car.  Charlotte, MAY' 19 LARTIGUE

 2018

We stayed in the Lartigue apartment in the first week of October to chase the last of the summer sun. We would have turned that week into two weeks if we could. This place is every parents dream! From the moment we booked, we felt welcomed by the most incredible hosts - Juliet and Deane. My husband and I stayed in the apartment with our 2 year old and and her grandparents. There was plenty of space for us all, with beautifully decorated bedrooms and little touches of luxury which meant it felt extra special and exceeded our expectations for a self-catering stay. L’occitane in the bathrooms, fluffy dressing gowns and a welcome hamper with French goodies and homemade jam to welcome us on arrival, just to name a few. The week was a little piece of tranquility for us all. Nestled on a hillside with views of rural France and surrounded by the plum farms we were all able to enjoy sundowner drinks on the deck, play in the trees, walk through the gardens, swim in the pool and soak up the views from every angle. The final thing to shout from the rooftops about is the amazing food that we were able to order through Juliet and ‘dine-in’ in our apartment. Juliet provided a wonderfully varied menu which tempted us so much that we enjoyed her cooking for a number of nights and could relax in our own “home” whilst our daughter slept and we didn’t have to venture out. We also had a gorgeous lunchtime spread of cold meats, local cheeses and salads which Juliet laid on and we were in heaven. I couldn’t believe the attention to detail that went in to everything, and for anyone travelling with children this place is a real gem. We loved it so much and had such a great time that we will be returning in the summer 2019 and we can’t wait. Louise, OCTOBER '18, LARTIGUE

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at absolutely stunning La Maison de Maitre. This was our second stay in the Patou apartment which is a converted pigeonnier and located separately from the main house and other accommodation. Patou is fitted out with everything you could possibly need including a washing machine and dishwasher. It is airy and beautifully decorated. Upon our arrival we were provided with sufficient groceries and wine to cover that evenings meal. There are several supermarkets with the closest about a ten minute drive away. We had a relaxing week and took advantage of the swimming pool and grounds overlooking the adjacent countryside. It was the perfect holiday. Dave, SEPTEMBER '18 PATOU

A really special family holiday in an amazing location. We stayed in Vionnet with our 4 and 7 year olds and my mum had Patou, the newly converted Pigionnier for 2 weeks in August. The attention to detail and cleanliness in the gites is amazing. I have never before come across somewhere so family friendly yet so luxurious and immaculate. You still want luxury when you go on holiday with children and you certainly get that here. Juliet said they had redecorated the whole place last winter and it showed. In fact many appliances in our gite looked brand new. Everything worked perfectly - rare in self catered accommodation. And the decor was beautiful and uncluttered. Linen changed and thorough cleaning once a week, towels changed twice a week. Amazing views over the quiet countryside and small hamlets, beautiful pool with plenty of inflatables for kids (regularly replaced), the place is just stunning. The grounds are beautifully kept and there's plenty of space for relaxing. There's a brilliant playroom area under the main house with a fridge stocked with water for guests to take, an immaculate shower/loo, and of course plenty of games for all ages. We particularly liked the table football and table tennis. The weather was so amazing and the place so relaxing we didn't feel the need to venture out for our first few days but when we did we found the local area more than lived up to expectations. There are several of "Les Plus Beaux Villages de France" within 20 mins drive - we particularly loved hilltop village Pujols and Monflaquin. In July and August several local towns host Marche Gourmandes or foody evenings where you choose food from vendors, eat at shared trestle tables and listen to music. We went to the Pujols one twice and had a great time. Amazing atmosphere. Really friendly locals. Great Medieval festival at Monflaquin one day. Juliet and Deane worked so hard all the time we were there - the place is a real credit to them. They gave great recommendations too. We left feeling so much more chilled out and hope to return to this stunning place. Emma, AUGUST '18 VIONNET & PATOU

We had a lovely week at La Maison de Maitre. They really have thought of everything you need when travelling with children and babies. Everything we needed was there which made it very relaxing. The pool is fantastic with beautiful views all around and a great temperature. The apartments are very well fitted out and big rooms with lots of space. We had dinner made for us on two evenings and the food was great. This was a very relaxing option. Breakfast was good too. The region is beautiful with lots to see. Deborah, AUGUST '18 LARTIGUE

My folks and my family (kids 6 and 7) had a wonderful stay at La Maison de Maitre. We had 2 separate apartments, both beautifully decorated. We saw the other 2 apartments and they were equally lovely. The place itself is stunning, gorgeous views across the valley, wonderful pool with every type of sports equipment you could imagine and well stocked games room. The hosts couldn't do enough to help us, offering to get our shopping or help out with recommendations. They provided supper a couple of nights which was delicious. We've been holidaying in France for over 15 years and this is one of the best places we've stayed. My folks liked it so much they stayed for 3 weeks!  Nicola, JULY '18 LARTIGUE & PATOU

We stayed for one week at the beautiful Maison de Maitre and couldn’t recommend it highly enough. We travelled with our 18 month old daughter, this was the perfect retreat for baby and parents! Baby was always kept busy with the pool, the well stocked games room and the swings and slides! We never tired of the beautiful views across the valley. The accommodation was top class, Juliet and Deane have done a fantastic job in creating cottages that are so comfortable with all the modern conveniences while also retaining their character and charm. Juliet and Deane had plenty of valuable advice on places to visit in the area. We loved touring the nearby towns and experiencing their market days. The beautiful town of St Emilion was also within reach. Overall a fantastic combination of activity, relaxation, culture and hospitality, we have great memories of this trip. We would love to return. Aoife, JULY '18 COCO

''Fabulous relaxed family holiday.  We had two weeks at La Maison de Maitre, the first week being in the Vionnet suite, which was just perfect, the accommodation is beautiful and very luxurious. It is tucked around the back, so does provide more privacy than the others and the views from the patio and garden are beautiful. For our second week we spent it in the Lartigue suite, which is just as beautiful and luxurious. It has the added benefit of having a large covered outside area, which can be enjoyed in all weathers. The swimming pool, garden and playroom are fabulous and very well maintained with stunning views. Deane and Juliet provide absolutely everything you need for the most perfect holiday, this is the only place we'll stay on future trips to France!''  Sarah JULY ‘18 VIONNET & LARTIGUE

''Chilled out gorgeousness.  La Maison de Maitre is just gorgeous! We stayed in the Coco Suite with our nine-month old and it was perfect - beautifully renovated, fantastically equipped and spacious with great views and plenty of privacy. Thoroughly recommend.'' Lucy JULY ‘18

''Another fantastic visit to La Maison de Maitre.  Fantastic family place to stay in an unspoilt piece of countryside in a beautiful area of France. 
So good this was our second visit and would definitely consider going back again!  Hosts had thought of everything and are very focused on making it easy to stay there with a young family. But I have to say I think the attention to detail was just as effective for the 10-month old as it was for the 71 year old! Would recommend having a car and planning visits to the markets (as per the wonderful pack of information you receive in your room) and sampling as much of the local produce as possible. Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, pick the one that you need for your size of family.'' Katie JUNE ‘18

''The perfect family holiday.  We've just returned from a week at the coco suite and had a really wonderful time. The accommodation is beautiful. Gorgeous décor, immaculately clean, lovely and spacious and nice and cool inside. We had Juliet's delicious meals on our first and last night - would really recommend taking advantage of this during your stay, she's a fantastic cook. I was really impressed with the lovely little touches that just make this trip feel special - the thoughtful welcome basket, the l'Occitane toiletries, full complement of teas, sugar, coffee machine etc. They literally have thought of everything! This also applies to amenities for children. We travelled with our 19-month old son, and he had a wonderful time. Not only is there a heated outdoor pool with lots of pool toys, a games room, and brilliant outdoor play area that he loved, there were plenty of toys for him to play with in the suite too. We didn't need to take anything for him, they even have 2 sets of black-out blinds. There is so much to do in the surrounding areas, really close by if you do want to leave this beautiful place. As others have said, the views are just spectacular. There is a private outdoor seating area for the coco suite as well as a covered dining table at the front of the suite on the terrace. We had the place to ourselves which was a real luxury, so this was private too! But normally the space is shared with one other suite, and it's a big space, so wouldn't have been an issue. Juliet and Deane provide a book with lots of suggestions for trips out which was really helpful. We couldn't fit in everything we wanted to do in a week - we will just need to return to paradise next year! I'm already looking forward to it. Thanks for the perfect family holiday!'' Melissa JUNE ‘18 COCO

 

2017

 

''Simply A Slice of Heaven on Earth!!  We have been seduced by La Maison de Maitre for ten years now. Each time we return we are mesmerised by the stunning scenery. The truly exquisite and luxurious barns Deane and Juliet have created cannot fail to inspire you to return. Their attention to detail is just superb and last year, our first time in Patou, their latest addition to the wonderful accommodation on offer surpassed our expectations. You will not fail to be mesmerised by the truly magnificent views from the swimming pool and the professional creativeness and attentiveness of your hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We shall return - how can we not!''  Michele SEPT ‘17 PATOU

 

''Perfect! We stayed in the patou suite with our 9 month baby and could not be happier! It had been beautifully converted and had absolutely everything we needed. The grounds and location are stunning- it truly felt like a slice of paradise. The hosts were truly lovely and attentive!'' 
Claire, July 2017, PATOU

''Beautiful place, wonderful hosts! Truly stunning accommodation! Juliet and Deane have spared no effort in turning this into an ideal place to stay. The grounds are immaculate, the pool is spotless, the accommodation is both beautiful and homely and the hosts are kindness itself.
With a pool, a play room, an outdoor play area and extensive grounds to roam in, I can't think of a better place to stay with children and for grown-ups the spectacular views and characterful accommodation provide an unforgettable holiday experience.
I feel lucky to have stayed in this wonderful place and only wish I was there right now!''
Natalie, June 2017, VIONNET

''Stunning villa, wonderful holiday. This really is a little bit of heaven, the villa is stunning and the views breathtaking. We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves the first week, but even with other guests in the neighbouring villa the second week, it feels incredibly private. Our two boys (3 yo and 11 months) loved the pool and play areas, generally just having a fantastic time in the sunshine. The eldest even learned to swim independently for the first time! Juliet and Deane really have thought of and provide just about everything you need for little ones, and they work so hard to keep the gardens and villas looking pristine. Their home cooked evening meals are also highly recommended.''             Sally, June 2017, VIONNET

''Luxurious family holiday. Loved our time at this superbly equipped and pleasant holiday home. Facilities were perfect for families with children. Views excellent. Pool lovely, even in the rain! Looking forward to rebooking to go back.''  Katie, June 2017, COCO

''Second visit - didn't disappoint!  We returned to La Maison de Maitre for the second time in June this year. We stayed in the Vionnet Suite with our 4 and 1 year olds. We had an absolutely fantastic week. Our favourite things about it are:
1) You don't need to leave the property - unless you want to. There's loads of activities for the kids and grown-ups. There are lots of very peaceful spots to relax in (if you get 5 minutes away from the children). The views are fantastic - and perfect for gazing at with an evening glass of wine. (There are lots of fun things to do outside of the property too - it's just nice not to have to do them unless you want to!!)
2) Juliet's cooking. We ate from the menu three times and were not disappointed on any occasion. It's such a treat to be in self-catering accommodation - without having to self-cater!!
3) The pool - which looks out over the valley. Many, many happy hours were spent playing and swimming.
This all added up to a holiday that meant we could truly relax and get away from normal life routines and chores. The facilities for the kids (high-chairs, stair-gates, cots, loo-seats, plastic cutlery etc etc) are all of very high quality and meant we didn't have to take it all with us.
We will be going back again!!''  Becky, June 2017, VIONNET

''A Fantastic week spent at La Maison.  It's now been nearly a month since we got home from our holiday and we're still on a high! The accommodation is stunning and set in beautiful scenery with plenty of walks to do and lots of outside space. Our 15 month old was in heaven. We spent a week in the Coco Suite and it was like a home from home - except decorated far more beautifully than we could ever manage. We were nervous as this was our first self-catering holiday with our son, but this was eased by Juliet's fantastic cooking and we had dinner from her menu twice in the week. Including some of the same things twice because it was so good the first time - stand out for me was the goats cheese parcels. Juliet and Dean have put a tremendous amount of thought and passion in to this venue, which is also their home. We struggled to get our little boy out of the play room most days, and he spent many happy hours playing on the play equipment, especially the wendy house. Rounded off with some fresh cherries from the trees growing just behind. There was only one other family staying while we were there and we had the pool to ourselves most days which felt like sheer luxury. I can't get over the views from the pool and the beautiful lavender that borders the terrace. Everything has been thought of and we couldn't have asked for anything more from our holiday. Juliet and Dean go above and beyond - without being intrusive - to make sure their guests are happy and comfortable (including an impromptu bird rescue on our last night as it had flown in while we sat down to relax one evening!). We've left the holiday with amazing memories and look forward to returning, hopefully more than once. Especially after seeing the newly renovated Patou Suite which is just stunning. If only I was sipping a glass of wine on the infinity terrace surrounded by silence only interrupted by crickets right now instead of at my desk in London. I'd say that the photos don't do La Maison justice. It really does need to be seen and experienced! Thank you for our wonderful holiday.'' Alex, JUNE 2017, COCO

''Perfect for a restful romantic week. My wife and I love La Maison de Maitre and this is the third occasion that we have stayed. I had watched with interest the conversion of the old pigeon tower into accommodation on previous visits so when I saw on their new website that Patou was now available (with a discount for 2017) we thought this would be ideal for us. We were not disappointed. Patou has been sympathetically converted to an extremely high standard. It is beautifully decorated with the theme, unsurprisingly, being bird related. It is located opposite the other suites and is completely self contained. There is a separate patio area that is sheltered from view from the other accommodation but still allows views across the stunning countryside. Patou has a very high beamed roof so is split into two levels with the bedroom and ensuite above the kitchen and living area. There were lockable metal gates at the top and bottom of the stairs which would allow a couple with a small child to stay there. The shower was brilliant and had plenty of room for two people if required. I should add that the large bed was very comfortable and we slept very well throughout our stay. The grounds at La Maison de Maitre were as excellent as usual. The swimming pool does not use chemicals to keep clean so it is pleasing to have a swim without stinging eyes or the smell of chlorine. We had warm weather for most of the week but even a swim in the rain was still at a comfortable temperature. Juliet and Deane were welcoming as always. I highly recommend La Maison de Maitre if you are looking for a peaceful week or two in beautiful surroundings. There is plenty of places to visit within easy driving distance but spending a day in and not going out is always enjoyable.'' Dave, May 2017, PATOU

2016

''A beautiful peaceful place!  We had a wonderful stay at La Maison de Maitre in July 2016. We stayed for one week in Vionnet with our five year old son and two year old daughter. The apartment is beautiful - it's been converted to a very high standard (we are quite fussy!) and Juliet and Dean have thought of everything a family might need - from a good coffee machine to a potty to stair gates and DVDs - it made everything so much easier which is a HUGE relief when travelling with young children! There's no air conditioning in the apartments but we were lovely and cool due to the thick walls and (amazingly!) high ceilings, and fans are provided. High quality bed linen and towels provided. The swimming pool is perfect - beautifully kept and a shallow end that was just right for our five year old (learning to swim) to stand up in. The fact that pool toys (and ice cold water!) are also provided is a wonderful touch, as is the trampoline and small play area! Juliet cooked for us for two evenings and the food was a very high standard and enjoyed by us all. Juliet and Dean were so friendly and helpful, the perfect hosts. We would highly recommend La Maison de Maitre for those wanting a peaceful and relaxing holiday in this lovely part of France.'' Sarah, July ’16 VIONNET

''Idyllic! This was our second year and I'm sure we'll keep going back. A lovely big property, set in beautiful French countryside with everything for children and adults alike. Most peaceful place I've been for years but also great fun for the grandchildren in the pool and the play areas. Great local markets in Ste Livrade and Pujols and Villeneuve is a nice town only 15 minutes away. Juliet and Dean are perfect hosts - always available but never visible. Can't recommend too highly. '' Ken, July 2016, ENTIRE SITE

‘‘We have just returned from La Maison de Maitre with big smiles on our faces. Clean, stylish, comfortable. Perfect pool area, views and scenery absolutely stunning and the games room was a huge hit with our boys! The attention to detail and all the little extra touches like the welcome basket, made this a fantastic break away. Thanks so much Juliet and Deane, you were fantastic hosts. Sarah, July 2016, ENTIRE SITE

‘‘I have never been to a place that is actually better than it was on the internet + I am very picky! I have also never been to a place that I would return to! I will highly recommend you to my friends. Thanks for making our first holiday with baby so easy + stress free’‘ Kirsty June 2016, COCO

‘‘Loved it the first time we came, but were even more impressed this time. Lovely location, beautiful accommodation, attention to detail, outstanding! Claire, July 2016, LARTIGUE

2015

‘‘We particularly liked the arrival hamper, childrens’ play room, breakfast, information book, fully stocked kitchen even including cling film + napkins, thank you!’‘ Sarah JUNE ’16 ‘‘I really do not even know how to start to describe how beautiful this accommodation is!!! Suffice to say the previous reviews are a true reflection of what you experience. My husband and I stayed in the Coco Suite for 5 nights. As soon as we arrived it was like walking in to heaven!! Juliet and Deane are the perfect hosts, so helpful yet unobtrusive. The little extra details are beautiful…..a stocked welcome basket full of delicious staples. We planned so much but ended up doing close by sight seeing and then relaxed by the pool, did not even go out for dinner!! Juliet cooked us dinner which we ate outside whilst admiring the beautiful rolling hills…..one of the best and most memorable meals we have had in France. Our first trip to France was made more special as a result of meeting you and staying at La Maison de Maitre’‘ Lynne SEPT ’15

2014

‘‘We have just spent two fantastic weeks at La Maison de Maitre, our first holiday with our 10 month old and we could not have chosen a better place to stay. Vionnet suite has a lovely private outdoor space with BBQ, table & chairs, swing & slide. The communal areas are immaculate, the swimming pool has an incredible view, plenty of sun loungers and large umbrellas and it’s heated to a really nice temperate. We swam every day which had the added benefit of making our little one nap very well! There are even more toys in the games room & playground to keep children of all ages happy. Juliet and Deane are fantastic hosts and achieve that difficult balance between being available and helpful without being obtrusive. We enjoyed Juliet’s home cooking which we would definitely recommend as it’s a real treat. The surrounding area is lovely; it’s not too touristy but there is still plenty to see and do. We feel very fortunate to have spent two weeks here and we will be returning as soon as possible.’‘ Jayne JUNE ’14

‘‘We have just returned from a week at La Maison de Maitre, our first holiday with our 11 month old. I can’t fault this place at all, it is just fantastic – from the most stunning pool which overlooks the beautiful rolling hills of the French countryside, to the accommodation – a fantastic old barn which has been furnished to a very high standard – lovely comfy beds, well equipped kitchen and everything you could need when travelling with a baby. The grounds are beautiful – so well kept, and with a lovely childrens play area. They have really thought of everything – it’s clearly been a labour of love for them, and it shows – everything is immaculate. I very much hope we will be back soon! A first holiday with our little one (which I was slightly dreading) was simply brilliant!’‘ Sally JUNE ’14

2013

‘‘What a stunning place with the most amazing views! Everything you need to have a very relaxed holiday with small children. I’d certainly recommend to anyone and we hope to return very soon! Juliet and Deane were fantastic – great food, lovely welcome pack and so helpful with everything.’‘ Georgie JUNE ’13

‘‘If you are looking for some much needed rest and relaxation, idyllic scenery, beautiful, first class, self-catering accommodation, plentiful toys for your little ones and some wonderful luxurious touches to make you feel special, then look no further than Maison de Maitre. This gem of a bolt hole, really does offer all this and a whole lot more, thanks to the wonderful design and hosting abilities of owners who literally leave no stone unturned when it comes to looking after their guests.
When you turn into the drive at Maison de Maitre, you really can’t fail to smile, it is simply stunning, and that was our reaction before we even got the guided tour! The accomodation is beautifully designed, ultra clean, and provides ALL the facilities you need for a stress free stay with little ones. What’s more, it boasts gorgeous soft furnishings (seriously worthy of inclusion in top interior design magazines), soft fluffy towel bales and towelling dressing gowns for each person, and quality beds and bedding that are beyond comfortable…when your head hits the pillow, a good night’s sleep is practically guaranteed (baby disturbances aside!) 
The facilities too, are spot on…a clean, warm pool, plenty of comfy sunbeds and squishy oversized cushions, large sun umbrellas, a cavern of children’s toys and games, chilled bottled water, a sandpit,two small play areas, one glorious frog pond, stunning, panoramic countryside views, a tranquility inducing decking area (very cool!), a barbecue per apartment, yummy meals cooked and served by Juliet (order a day in advance), the list goes on and on. Despite having two babies under the age of two years, my husband and I genuinely relaxed all week long and the kiddies absolutely LOVED it! It was without doubt one of our best ever holidays and we will definitely be returning!’‘ Lucy R JUNE ’13

‘‘We were overwhelmed by the beauty of the place + the well thought out touches everywhere on site. The welcome basket was a particularly nice touch and we loved the fresh flowers in the suite. You have the balance just right..discreet but always available, friendly + chatty too. We would love to return with friends + family.’ Jenny JUNE ’13

‘‘Our second experience at La Maison de Maitre was even better than the first. We spent a week in the “Tuscany of France” and cemented our love for the country stay. La Maison has all the luxuries that you will need as well the the magnificent setting of a French farm house overlooking beautiful fields and an old church in the distance that chimed it’s bells. Juliet and Deane are charming hosts and are ready to help with anything that you may need. They can organise dinner in the evening or bikes for a leisurely ride as well as letting you know what is available in the region. We stayed in one one of the appartments in the converted barn that has chandeliers in various rooms! On arrival you are greeted with a basket of goodies and a bottle of bubbly!! Very welcomed after a long journey from Paris! I would recommend this place to anyone who would like to experience the charm of this region of France.’‘ The Aussies JULY 2013

‘‘Myself, my husband and our 11 month old baby stayed at La Maison. We had a lovely week. The location of the gite is stunning, the facilities are great – we couldn’t want for more, everything is of a very high quality and taste. We stayed in the Coco suite which was lovely. Decorated to a very high standard, clean, spacious and very well equipped. We also sampled Juliet’s 3 course meal on our first night which was delicious. I would highly recommend La Maison – enjoy!’‘ Julia JUNE ’13

‘‘A fantastic holiday in a beautiful peaceful setting. The renovated barn is immaculate and classy with everything you could need, incl equipment for children (prams, baby baths, bottles, cutlery etc). We hired all three appartments for our family of 8 adults and 3 young kids aged 2, 3 and 6. We loved all being together yet having our own space. Everything is provided and good quality; bed linens, towels, pool towels all provided, with a mid-week change. The owners are very friendly, and available on site. Their cooking it is fantastic! It was great to know they were on hand if you need anything. They were discreet and non-invasive. The pool is fantastic 12m, bigger than normal holiday villas, and a nice temperature, the safety cover is fast to close and very secure so you know the children are safe. There is a fab games room in the ‘cave’ by the pool, with boule & darts for adults and lots of games and toys including pool toys, for the kids. DVDs and games in the accommodation, and a big children’s playground onsite, and a safe pond with frogs. Everything has been thought of here! It was so well thought out in every aspect, the children all had a ball. The local area is ‘upmarket rural’ – tidier than other areas like Provence. It has many sunflower fields so is worth an explore in mid-summer – but I can recommend just settling in at La Maison de Maitre with a good book, wine (you might be able to buy some from Dean and Juliet with notice) some bread and cheese (or Dean and Juliet’s fantastic catering) and bed in by the pool! It is very hard to find any criticisms! We would definitely go back as it’s very hard to find accommodation of this quality to fit a big group.’‘ Carole AUGUST 2013

“Stunning – ‘Mr & Mrs Smith boutique’ for families” This was the first holiday we,ve had with our baby (7.5 months old) and we can honestly say that we could not have been happier with our choice. As the title suggests, the apartments and set up are both of a high quality, and offer almost everything you would need as a family. The apartment was fantastically maintained, clean and with everything you should need, (including a kitchen rather than kitchenette). The pool and grounds are just as beautifully maintained as the apartments with plenty of space and activities for kids. The welcome pack was really useful for the first night/morning.
We had two evening meals prepared for us – both were tasty, filling and to an excellent standard. We would fully recommend this to anyone – we loved it. Christian JUNE ’13

‘‘We were overwhelmed by the beauty of the place + the well thought out touches everywhere on site. The welcome basket was a particularly nice touch and we loved the fresh flowers in the suite. You have the balance just right..discreet but always available, friendly + chatty too. We would love to return with friends + family.’ Jenny JUNE ’13

2012

‘‘A beautiful relaxing holiday in Paradise. La Maison de Maitre is a really beautiful place. We had a very relaxing holiday just spending time around the pool and in the grounds. The owners have thought of everything that a family would need + really go the extra mile. The toy room by the pool is a brilliant thing to have as a break from being in the sun + bottled water much appreciated. The hamper is a lovely touch especially as it contains home made organic plum jam from the garden. We also sampled Juliet’s delicious home made plum + chocolate ice creams! La Maison de Maitre really does feel like a luxury holiday whilst catering for a family’s needs. Coco is decorated in a beautiful + stylish way + feels spacious. As for the views, they are breathtaking. We didn’t want to leave and will definitely be returning soon! Liz B AUG ’12 (from Trip Advisor)

‘‘An amazing family holiday. We spent a long time deciding where to go on holiday + I would highly recommend La Maison de Maitre. The owners are very welcoming + obviously work very hard to provide everyone with a luxurious holiday. Lartigue is beautifully decorated + very well equipped. The children (aged 7, 5 + nearly 2) were happy to stay at the gite for most of the stay + loved the pool which was equipped with all the inflatables any child could wish for. They all slept until 8-9am every morning which was incredible as we came away feeling totally revived!. We had dinner prepared for us on our 1st evening which was a real treat and delicious. Also great benefits were supply of cold (bottled) water by the pool + change of towels 1/2 way through the week. We will definitely be going back in the future. You have to see the views yourself to appreciate just how stunning they are!’‘ Kate H AUG ’12 (Trip advisor)

‘‘An idealic family retreat. Lartigue was the most beautiful property we have stayed in during our many years of visiting France. Spacious enough for a young family of 4 and catered for all our needs including everything needed for a 4 month old baby. The grounds were immaculate and the pool was fantastic, the owners have thought of everything needed to entertain children, lots of pool toys, outside play area, and even a covered area for rainy days. Although in the high 30’s we were all comfortable in the villa as it stayed cool. the owners themselves were very discreet but available if you needed them, (a very friendly couple) and cooked the most fabulous evening meals. The property was very clean, fresh and lovingly maintained. There was plenty to do in the surrounding areas and very informative information packs were provided in the property. We would highly recommend this property and may very well be booking for next year as it really is a home from home (but with better weather!)’‘ Jackie AUG ’12

‘‘Baby-parent heaven! The minute we arrived we knew we were in for a special week. Every last detail had been thought of, and the location and setting was incredible. We spent a week with our 1 year old + parents-in-law and I can honestly say that everything completely surpassed my expectations. All the baby equipment you could possibly need was provided. Beutifully decorated + designed to the highest standard. We treated ourselves to dinner and breakfast the day we arrived and the food was excellent. I have already drafted plans for next years trip and hope we can organise to make the reservation before the whole summer gets booked up. Highly recommended!’‘ Amelia JULY ’12 (Trip advisor)

‘‘Thanks for the fantastic support you were to us throughout the week and especially at the beginning when we didn’t have a car, it was brilliant!’‘ Karen + Martin JUNE ’12

 “We just managed to get the last available week in SEPT ’11, so we have booked early for JULY “12. Our 4th holiday at La Maison de Maitre – we just can’t bear not to come back every year!” Michele + Michael 2009-12

‘‘We had a lovely holiday and are dreaming of the lovely view from Coco now! 10/10 for views over the valley’‘ Louise + John JULY ’12

2011

“La Maison de Maitre was the perfect place for our wedding. Thank you for being such an important part of our exceptional year!” Hannah + Jean-Paul JULY ’11

‘‘Wedding venue par excellence! The hostess + her husband were gracious + welcoming to the clans that descended on this beautiful hillside house. Immaculately decorated + furnished. Classy + tasteful in an understated way. A superb venue for any kind of reception surrounded by sunflower fields, vineyards + plum orchards. The atmosphere is tranquil, restful and like a good French wine, something you just can’t get enough of. Very highly recommended.’‘ Photographer VDubbman July ’11 (Trip Advisor)

“A truely tasteful + enjoyable environment for adults and children alike. We’ve had a wonderful time” Anna + Jed AUG ’11

 “Absolutely gorgeous! We would not hesitate to return + have had a wonderful stay. Particularly impressed by the warmth + kindness of the hosts. Thanks again for the lifts to ‘La Source’ restaurant which made a big difference to the enjoyment of our quality time together” Anu + Paul JULY/AUGUST ’11

“Thank you so much for the upgraded suite and very nice welcome pack – we will remember our Honeymoon forever!” Susie + Ralph SEPTEMBER ’11

We all agree this is this best holiday we have ever had together. A perfect balance of restful atmosphere whilst catering for children. The house is incredibly well equipped – you have thought of everything! Thank you for making our holiday so enjoyable + special. We would love to come back” Sophie + Adam AUGUST ’11

“Thank you so much for a lovely holiday. You were so welcoming and the accomodation superb, not to mention the pool and the view!” Amanda + Paul JULY ,11

2010

“How lucky we found this place! What a warm welcome, wonderful meals, fantastic view, immaculate grounds with an excellent decked area to enjoy a drink or two watching the sun go down and a fantastic games room too. Don’t leave without a look in the little gift shop! We hope to return in the near future” Claire & Jason JULY ’10

“We arrived tired, stressed + irritable, but very quickly made ourselves at home. La Maison de Maitre has extremely welcoming, exceptional accommodation with everything provided and immaculately maintained. After just a week we left relaxed, refreshed and very happy!” Trish & Kev 2010

 “Keep it exactly as it is. Everything was wonderful, and the little touches like fresh flowers and Champagne in the fridge are just lovely” Daisy & Steve JUNE ’10

“We had a very special time here on honeymoon. The only thing that would make it better is another week! Can’t fault anything” Katherine & Gary OCTOBER ’10

 “We had a lovely holiday, and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone…exceeded expectations with facilities, helpfulness + advise.” Chris + Kate AUGUST ’10

“The most relaxing holiday since we had the girls! They loved the pool inflatables and games room! Superb location and I do agree that the pool + rooms are comparable to luxury boutique hotels we have stayed in. We were pampered by massage services and home cooked meals…our stay was truly perfect. We were really sad to be leaving and vow to return” Laura & Charlie AUGUST ’10

“Absolutely loved it + appreciated all the little touches like the welcome basket, quality bath products, bath robes etc and also loved the bath!!! Will definitely recommend to friends and family. Only wish we had booked for longer…” Jennie SEPT ’10

“We loved the luxury feel + attention to detail – fluffy towels, robes, ribbons, flowers, toys for kids. We have travelled the world and never considered coming back to stay in the same place until now. One of the best meals/nights out we have had. Totally unique to sit in such a lovely setting on our own and be served a beautiful meal”
Suzanne & Gary JUNE ’10

“..it was everything we hoped it would be; relaxing, beautiful surroundings, luxurious accommodation…made us want to stay in more than go out – very rare…such an idylic place to stay, can’t wait to visit again!” Caroline & Jonathan ’10

2009

“If you love relaxation, a super warm welcome and after service by your host, this amazing property is most definitely for you. It is comparable with 5 star boutique hotels we’ve stayed in from the ‘Mr and Mrs Smith’ books. This however doesn’t carry the 5 star price tag. We will most definitely be returning!” Clarkie JUNE ’09

“We found the perfect place for our honeymoon when we booked at La Maison de Maitre. An idyllic setting, with a touch of luxury – somewhere to really relax and unwind with all the finishing touches you’d see in glossy lifestyle magazines! 
The welcome we received when we arrived was the perfect start to our stay and the hospitality offered throughout was fantastic. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the pool has an incredible view across the valley. 
Juliet’s fresh approach to self-catering was like staying in a boutique hotel, but having the freedom to do as you pleased.” Catherine B MAY 2009

SEE MORE REVIEWS ON TRIP ADVISOR + JOIN OUR ‘LA MAISON DE MAITRE’ PAGE ON FACEBOOK


Terms & Conditions   |   Privacy & Cookie Policy

5 star villas, SW France Baby friendly villas, SW France Our villas on Facebook

© 2019  La Maison de Maitre - luxury villa holiday accommodation, Sainte Livrade-sur-Lot, Agen, SW France

Holiday Villa Web Design

To Top